Bar Wars? Not On This Block!

This is why I have lived in West Seattle as long as I have. Competitive business owners who don’t blink to help and encourage each other when they can.

Feedblog

bridge_blog

So my buddy Trevor called me, told me he was moving his bar The Bridge a block away from mine. Well, not HIS bar – his and his biz partner Rita’s bar. I’ll tell you what I think about those two in a minute. First, let’s talk about competition.

I have a fair amount of relationships with bars of all stripes, and the ones who are the most respected do the following:

1.) Work their asses off to make their places successful.

2.) They do it not at the expense of their friends in the same business, but as a hand-in-hand “let’s go get ’em” attitude with their competition.

Yeah, they are driven and competitive and want to win and go to sleep at night thinking about how to win. But at the end of the day, you hear your buddy’s bar had a sh*tty weekend, you feel bad. You…

View original post 338 more words

Leave a Reply

